Presidential Medal Policy

ACTA national presidents have traditionally awarded medals for outstanding achievement in coaching, administration, or contribution to, the sport of clay target shooting.

The following is a guideline for the assessment of individual nominations for the award of presidential medals outlining both the process and assessment criteria.


  • A call will be made to all states and the territory by advertisement in the Clay Target Shooting News August to October of each year.
  • The nominations to be forwarded to the Executive Officer by the closing date stipulated in the advertisement. The letters shall be marked “confidential” on the outside of the envelope and shall only be opened by the Executive Officer
  • The Executive Officer will treat the nominations as confidential and shall only release them to the President.
  • The President will request advice from the Board of Management on a confidential basis and will carefully consider such advice.
  • Board members will keep all details of the nominations and any relevant discussions confidential.
  • The President shall make the final decision on the award of the Presidential Medal(s).
  • The formal announcement and presentation of the medal(s) will occur during the annual Hall of Fame dinner held during the trap national championships.


  • Outstanding contribution to the sport from Club to National level
  • Generally only one medal to be granted per year but the President may, if the situation is warranted, grant a maximum of two medals in a year.

Recipients of the Presidential Medal

1980 - G Porter Qld

1981 - R Mules SA, G Richards WA, J Thomas Vic

1982 - Rob Buchan Vic

1983 - None awarded

1984 - L Bird NSW, A Smith Qld

1985 - None awarded

1986 - T Comerford Qld

1987 - E Biggs Vic

1988 - Roy Holtfreter WA

1989 - Rex Varley NSW

1990 - Ern Hawkins NSW

1991 - None awarded

1992 - None awarded

1993 - J Forbes SA

1994 - J Scott NSW

1995 - None awarded

1996 - F James Vic, W Morgan Tas

1997 - F Atkinson SA

1998 - L Connors Vic

1999 - Tim Catling WA

2000 - None awarded

2001 - None awarded

2002 - G Michell SA, Glenn Woodhatch Vic

2003 - None awarded

2004 - R Mason Tas

2005 - K Wright Vic

2006 - None awarded

2007 - None awarded

2008 - Jim Shepherd Vic, Rodney Woodrow Qld

2009 - Tom Meadows Qld

2010 - Vince Gatt NSW

2011 - John Byrnes SA, Peter Haley NSW

2012 - Robert Smith NSW

2013 - Ron Traill Vic

2014 - Robert Blake NSW

2017 - Elaine Forward WA

2017 - Michael Kruger-Davis NSW

Latest News

Australia beats New Zealand in Glenn Trophy event 2017

Australia beats New Zealand in...

Last week Australia took on New Zealand in New Zealand...

Expressions of Interest - World DTL Referees

Expressions of Interest - World...

The ACTA is seeking thirty (30) suitably qualified Referees for...

2018 ACTA Academy

2018 ACTA Academy

Applications now open for The ACTA Academy for 2018.Click here...

2018 Trap Nationals Latest Update

2018 Trap Nationals Latest Update

Attention Competitors The response to the nominations for the 2018...

World DTL 2018 Latest Update

World DTL 2018 Latest Update

Attention Competitors. Places for the 13th World DTL Championships 2018...

2018 ISSF Nationals - Pre-noms open

2018 ISSF Nationals - Pre-noms...

The 2018 ISSF Nationals will be held at the state...

13th World DTL Permits for International Competitors

13th World DTL Permits for...

All International competitors wanting to attend the 13th World DTL...

New Skeet Australian Record

New Skeet Australian Record

Michael Buttigieg breaks the Australian Skeet Record at the Skeet...

« »

National Office

308 Copland St, Wagga Wagga NSW 2650
PO Box 466, Wagga Wagga NSW 2650
Phone: 02 6938 2121    
International: +61 2 6938 2121
Fax: 02 6931 0125
Business Hours: Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm 
National Grounds:
Lot 72 Tasman Rd, Wagga Wagga NSW 2650

13th World DTL 2018

The ACTA are proud to be hosting the 13th World DTL Championships following the 2018 ACTA National Trap Championships. 

The 2018 ACTA National Trap Championships will be held from the 17th to 24th March 2018. The 13th World DTL Championships will be held from the 25th March to 27th March 2018.

All information including nominations forms, accommodation and firearms importation forms will become available on the ICTSF and ACTA websites.