The ladies Taipan Shield event came to life back in 1974 and was introduced by Elva Churches who passed away in February 2015 at the age of 95 years.

Elva and Sid Churches were the proprietors of Taipan Gunshop at Edwardstown in South Australia. The shop operated from 1967-1980 and was the storefront of the Taipan Projectiles Manufacturing plant, established in 1946.

Elva was a very keen clay target shooter, becoming involved from around 1970. She continued to shoot competitively up to about 1990 and then socially up to 2005 at age 85. Elva first joined the South Australian Gun Club as well as Mallala, Alexandria, Southern and International, being a life member at many. She was the state handicapper for SA for many years during the 1970's.

After competing in a car shoot at Griffith NSW around 1972 where there were a couple of other woman competitors, Elva came up with the idea of a postal shoot for woman. She reaslised there were many woman that wanted to shoot clay targets, but didn't necessarily want to learn clay target shooting shoulder to shoulder with men. Postal shoots are not a new idea and Elva through her pistol shooting years 1948-1972 had competed in a few over that time and knew how they were run. However in the world of Clay Target Shooting, a postal shoot for women was new, and she was told by more than a few blokes "that won't work". She had a can do attitude which annoyed more than a few blokes over the years.

Thus the Taipan Shield was born and the first event held in 1974 and is still going today.


Information provided by Barry Churches


Taipan Shield Results

Year Winning Team Score
1974 Royal Aero Gun Club NSW 88/100
1975 Royal Aero Gun Club NSW 78/100
1976 Royal Aero Gun Club NSW 72/100
1977 Metropolitan Gun Club Vic 82/100
1978 Jeparit Gun Club Vic 89/100
1979 Jeparit Gun Club Vic 91/100
1980 Jeparit Gun Club Vic 85/100
1981 Jeparit Gun Club Vic 93/100
1982 Cressy Gun Club Tas 90/100
1983 Werribee Gun Club Vic 92/100
1984 Cressy Gun Cub Tas 96/100
1985 No Contest -
1986 Kerang Gun Club Vic 96/100
1987 Kerang Gun Club Vic 94/100
1988 Kerang Gun Club Vic 90/100
1989 Kerang Gun Club Vic 96/100
1990 Cressy Gun Club Vic 95/100
1991 Boort Gun Club Vic 97/100
1992 Cressy Gun Club Vic 94/100
1993 Cressy Gun Club Vic 96/100
1994 Cressy Gun Club Vic 95/100
1995 Majura Park Gun Club NSW 121/125
1996 Majura Park Gun Club NSW 117/125
1997 Cressy Gun Club Tas 116/125
1998 Majura Park Gun Club NSW 114/125
1999 Majura Park Gun Club NSW 115/125
2000 Burdekin Gun Club Qld 115/125
2001 Majura Park Gun Club NSW 115/125
2002 Majura Park Gun Club NSW 118/125
2003 Werribee Gun Club Vic 119/125
2004 Werribee Gun Club Vic 122/125
2005 No Contest -
2006 Spring Bay CTC Tas 120/125
2007 No Contest -
2008 Tumut Gun Club NSW 120/125
2009 Spring Bay CTC Tas 117/125
2010 Morwell Gun Club Vic             117/125
2011 Morwell Gun Club Vic             116/125
2012 Spring Bay CTC Tas      118/125
2013 No Contest -
2014 Colac Gun Club Vic 72/75
2015 Colac Gun Club Vic 72/75
2016 Frankston Australia CTC Vic 74/75
2017 Melbourne Gun Club Vic (1) 73/75