Australian Clay Target Association logo

National Office

02 6938 2121

Email Us

Presidential Medal Policy

ACTA national presidents have traditionally awarded medals for outstanding achievement in coaching, administration, or contribution to, the sport of clay target shooting.

The following is a guideline for the assessment of individual nominations for the award of presidential medals outlining both the process and assessment criteria.


  • A call will be made to all states and the territory by advertisement in the Clay Target Shooting News August to October of each year.
  • The nominations to be forwarded to the Executive Officer by the closing date stipulated in the advertisement. The letters shall be marked “confidential” on the outside of the envelope and shall only be opened by the Executive Officer
  • The Executive Officer will treat the nominations as confidential and shall only release them to the President.
  • The President will request advice from the Board of Management on a confidential basis and will carefully consider such advice.
  • Board members will keep all details of the nominations and any relevant discussions confidential.
  • The President shall make the final decision on the award of the Presidential Medal(s).
  • The formal announcement and presentation of the medal(s) will occur during the annual Hall of Fame dinner held during the trap national championships.


  • Outstanding contribution to the sport from Club to National level
  • Generally only one medal to be granted per year but the President may, if the situation is warranted, grant a maximum of two medals in a year.

Recipients of the Presidential Medal




 2020  None Awarded  
 2019      Frank Auditore   NSW
 2018  Tony Turner (Former EO)      
 2018  Don Power  NSW     
 2017  Michael Kruger-Davis  NSW
 2017  Elaine Forward  WA
 2016  None Awarded  
 2015  None Awarded  
 2014  Robert Blake  NSW
 2013  Ron Traill  VIC
 2012  Robert Smith  NSW
 2011  Peter Haley  NSW
 2011  John Byrnes  SA
 2010  Vince Gatt  NSW
 2009  Tom Meadows  QLD
 2008  James Shepherd  VIC
 2008  Rodney Woodrow  QLD
 2007  None Awarded  
 2006  None Awarded  
 2005  K Wright  VIC
 2004  R Mason  TAS
 2003  None Awarded  
 2002  Glenn Woodhatch  VIC
 2002  G Mitchell  SA
 2001  None Awarded  
 2000  None Awarded  
 1999  Tim Catling  WA
 1998  L Connors  VIC
 1997  F Atkinson  SA
 1996  W Morgan  TAS
 1995  None Awarded  
 1994  J Scott  NSW
 1993  J Forbes  SA
 1992  None Awarded  
 1991  Ern Hawkins  NSW
 1990  Rex Varley  NSW
 1989  Roy Holtfreter  WA
 1988  E Briggs  VIC
 1987  T Comeford  QLD
 1986  None Awarded  
 1985  A Smith  QLD
 1984  L Bird  NSW
 1983  None Awarded  
 1982  Rob Buchan  VIC
 1981  J Thomas  VIC
 1981  G Richards  WA
 1981  R Mules  SA
 1980  G Porter  QLD



July 2022 CTSN

On the cover: Jack Stockdale, ACTA 2022 Hall of Fame Inductee with Aislin Jones

Inside this month's edition

ACTA Report
2022 ACTA Skeet Nationals
Skeet Hall of Fame Dinner
Gold, Silver, Bronze – Junior ISSF World Cup
Vale – Pam Cook
Arnhem Gun Club – Shooters with Hooters
Vision and Shooting
VCTA Five Stand Sporting Championships
Australia Dominate in Granada
Psychological Skills for Shooting
Maryborough Invades Ararat
Competition Results: TAS, NSW, WA, QLD, SA, NT, VIC
What’s Happening in the VCTA
NSWCTA 2021 State Skeet Championships
Great June Day at Bega
Perfect Conditions in Wangaratta
Maryborough & District Gun Club News
Break Badges
New Members
Shoot Calendar

Download PDF          View FLIPBOOK
This month's CTSN

Call the National Office

02 6938 2121